2013 ICC Awards nominations list

Maybe you have assumed your favorite cricketer with 2013 ICC awards trophy….It’s a time to stop all your assumptions about 2013 ICC Awards nominations, because you can see it here.

Cricket Insanity is not limited for ground only…..After the completion of the match, cricket fans discuss about players performance – their wickets, fours, sixes, etc. for a long time. They also discuss about which player is best in batting, bowling, wicket-keeping, etc. as well as predict category wise nomination for cricket awards. Since 2004, International cricket council has been hosting ICC awards for the best international cricket players of the previous 12 months. ICC presents 10 different awards through this ceremony. This year, International cricket council has considered August 2, 2012 to August 25, 2013 performance of the cricketers for nomination. At present, the nominations list of the forthcoming ICC Awards has been revealed on the web and in this list Indian captain, MS Dhoni leads the nomination list. He has been nominated for the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year and ODI Player of the Year as well as he has become the winner of the People’s Choice Award, done through online voting.

2013 ICC Awards shortlisted Cricketers

Indian player Virat kohli, who won Arjuna Award in August 2013 has not been nominated in any category of ICC awards. On the other hand, Hasim Amla (South Africa), Michael Clarke (Australia), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) have got twin nominations in 2013 ICC awards. Misbah-ul-Haq is nominated for the ODI Cricketer of the Year; he is single player who got nomination without playing any match all over the year. The age of 26 must be required to qualify for this awards as well as players must have played minimum five tests and/or 10 ODIs and/or FiveT20Is at the beginning of the performance period. Some other talented cricketers including Trent Boult, Cheteshwar Pujara, Joe Root and Mitchell Starc have been also nominated for ICC awards.

The long list of nominations for each category was created by five-person ICC selection panel including Anil Kumble (Chairman), Waqar Younis, Alec Stewart, Graeme Pollock, and Catherine Campbell. After that, 32-member panel including former cricketers, media persons, match officials, ICC cricket committee chairman shortlisted nominees by voting for individual awards. Moreover, David Shepherd Trophy for the Umpire of the year award has been shortlisted on the basis of Elite panel of match referees and 10 current test captains’ votes and umpire’s performance statistics.

Amit Mishra is shortlisted for Emerging Player of the Year; this is the most surprising nomination in 2013 ICC award. ICC also gives best Women's Cricketer of the Year award and in this category Indian batswomen Mithali Raj and all-rounder Priyanka Roy have been selected. Last but not least, Gautam Gambhir has got his first nomination for the cricketer of the year and test player of the year.

Nominations list for 2013 ICC Awards

LG People’s Choice Award (via internet voting):

  • Winner – MS Dhoni
  • Other Nominees: Alastair Cook (Eng), Michael Clarke (Aus), Virat Kohli (Ind), AB de Villiers (SA)

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year:

  • Hashim Amla (SA)
  • James Anderson (Eng)
  • Michael Clarke (Aus)
  • Alastair Cook (Eng)
  • MS Dhoni (Ind)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year:

  • Hashim Amla (SA)
  • James Anderson (Eng)
  • Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)
  • Michael Clarke (Aus)
  • Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)
  • Dale Steyn (SA)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year:

  • Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
  • Shikhar Dhawan (Ind)
  • MS Dhoni (Ind)
  • Misbah ul-Haq (Pak)
  • Ravindra Jadeja (Ind)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year:

  • Suzie Bates (NZ)
  • Charlotte Edwards (Eng)
  • Meg Lanning (Aus)
  • Dane van Niekerk (SA)
  • Anya Shrubsole (Eng)
  • Stafanie Taylor (WI)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of The Year:

  • Trent Boult (NZ)
  • Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)
  • Joe Root (Eng)
  • Mitchell Starc (Aus)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year:

  • Kevin O’Brien (Ire)
  • Kyle Coetzer (Scot)
  • Ed Joyce (Ire)
  • Nawroz Mangal (Afg)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year:

  • Umar Gul (Pak) (SL) – 2.2-0-6-5 v South Africa, Centurion, 3 March 2013
  • Martin Guptill (NZ) – 101* (69b, 9×4, 6×6) v South Africa, East London, 23 December 2012
  • Brendon McCullum(NZ) – 123 (53b, 11×4, 7×6) v Bangladesh, Pallekele, 1 October 2012
  • Ajanth Mendis (SL) – 4-2-8-6 v Zimbabwe, Hambantota, 18 September 2012

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year:

  • Suzie Bates (NZ)
  • Shanel Daley (WI)
  • Deandra Dottin (WI)
  • Meg Lanning (Aus)
  • Sarah Taylor (Eng
  • Stafanie Taylor (WI)

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year:

  • Aleem Da
  • Steve Davis
  • Kumar Dharmasena
  • Marais Erasmus
  • Ian Gould
  • Tony Hill
  • Richard Illingworth
  • Richard Kettleborough
  • Nigel Llong
  • Bruce Oxenford
  • Paul Reiffel
  • Rodney Tucker

[link url=http://cricket.yahoo.com/news/dhoni-leads-icc-awards-nominations-list-065709320.html]

You may also like...